Darksat IT Security Forums
October 20, 2019, 05:23:50 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Darksat IT Security Forum
From Firewall Support, AntiVirus Questions, Spyware problems, Linux and Windows Security, Black Hat SEO right down to Website Design and Multimedia
 
  Home Help Search Gallery Links Staff List Login Register  

help me setup a network.


Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: help me setup a network.  (Read 10732 times)
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2007, 08:34:26 am »

If your using a USB dongle its pointless getting a router.
You will have to find a 10M+ Crossover Cable.
Good Luck.
 Wink
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2007, 08:42:31 am »

Well I think I am stuck then :p unless i buy a couple of 2m ones and connect them together.

edit: i found one http://www.ebuyer.com:80/customer/search/index.html?rb=25104765359&strSearch=crossover&bolShowAll=true&bolShowAll=true&strOrderDir=descending&intPage=2 gona cost me another 100 for p&p  Roll Eyes
« Last Edit: February 08, 2007, 08:44:13 am by Antexter » Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2007, 10:07:45 am »

well i ordered some stuff with it p&p was 10 rip off, but should have it next monday i will report back if i get the crossover setup.
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2007, 05:53:58 pm »

Man, why didnt you go down to the nearest maplins and get it.
10 for mailing out a crossover cable is a rip off.
I hope it works for you.
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2007, 10:24:48 am »

Nah maplin contains a trip to their shop, in the snow going 1mph.
I ordered a couple of other things so 10 split over 3-4 things isn't bad.
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2007, 08:39:30 am »

It says connected and on one of the PC's i can see my other computer but on the other computer i cannot see that computer and I isnt sharing my internet connection??
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2007, 09:35:25 am »

How can you make something so simple seem so hard. Grin

Enable sharing on both PCS

And try connecting your USB dongle to both PCs and see what happens.
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2007, 09:41:33 am »

I'm sure i enables sharing how do you do it?
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2007, 10:02:03 am »

the internet connection is enabled as shared but doesnt work on other pc.
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2007, 10:24:23 am »

Can you ping out?
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2007, 10:52:50 am »

nope
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2007, 11:01:14 am »

Ok, check that the crossover cables are in the right way around.
Check the firewall settings.
Check if One  or both PCs are set to DHCP. If so you need to manually set them both to the same subnet: ie 192.168.0.1 and .2
If your still having trouble, post the results of an ipconfig /all and I will take a look.
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2007, 07:03:14 am »

http://www.typertappers.com/cmd.jpg

firewall off
crossover is just doing opposite in other way around.
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2007, 01:18:43 pm »

someone must know where I'm going wrong.
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2007, 06:10:14 pm »

Run IPCONFIG /all and post the results here, I will take a look.

Check your DHCP Settings as well.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
eXTReMe Tracker
Security Forum
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 13 queries.