Darksat IT Security Forums
March 03, 2024, 03:30:18 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Darksat IT Security Forum
From Firewall Support, AntiVirus Questions, Spyware problems, Linux and Windows Security, Black Hat SEO right down to Website Design and Multimedia
 
  Home Help Search Gallery Links Staff List Login Register  

Need advice

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Need advice  (Read 4592 times)
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« on: June 20, 2007, 04:35:27 am »


I create site with Dreamwever. I use some layers in my layout.The primary browser is IE and everything is ok there. But in Firefox those layers change their position. How can I prevent it?
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 05:08:38 am »

eaily solved don't look at it in firefox Grin.

post the code so we can have a look.
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 05:24:51 am »

The code of whole page,Defcon5?
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2007, 05:31:22 am »

yeah
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2007, 06:05:15 am »

You will be scared  Wink
Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2007, 06:24:35 am »

I'm scared Grin, the problem is the navigator right?
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2007, 07:14:01 am »

The problem is with this layer. It moves to right about 30-40px in Firefox browser.

<div id="Layer53"><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="ladies_gallery.php" class="navigation">photo
        album</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="about_page.htm" class="navigation"> about us</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="about_page.htm#contact" class="navigation"> contact
    us</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="happy_stories.htm" class="navigation"> happy stories</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="#antiscam_page.html" class="navigation" onClick="MM_openBrWindow('antiscam_page.html','antiscam','scrollbars=yes,width=845,height=500')"> antiscam</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="FAQ_page.htm" class="navigation" > FAQ</a></font><font color="#FFFFFF"><a href="http://roksolana-dating.com/livechat/index.php" class="navigation" > LiveChat</a></font></div>

and this layer moves 30px down after it comes with timeline

 <div id="Layer2" style="position:absolute; left:-183px; top:112px; width:484px; height:49px; z-index:1">
  <h1><font color="#990000" face="Times New Roman, Times, serif" size="+7"><b><font size="+5" class="headhome">Welcome
    to our Dating Agency!</font></b></font></h1>
</div>
 
What can you say about it?
« Last Edit: June 20, 2007, 07:22:16 am by roksolana » Report Spam   Logged
Defcon 5
Master
*****
Posts: 2410



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2007, 09:06:05 am »

Lol whats wierd, i would of though its something around the hover in CSS but i can't see anything you will have to wait for someone else sorry Sad.

take it you used a WYSIWYG editor then Grin, theirs a lot of stuff you don't need in the code, would more than likely speed it up sorting it all out.
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2007, 04:33:24 am »

Thanks,
I know I should clear code much. there is my first site and I am not skilled yet Undecided
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2007, 11:09:53 am »

You could always use an IE/Firefox hack to knock the layer over using conditional statements.
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2007, 05:38:54 am »

I don't familiar with it yet
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2007, 11:34:42 am »


http://www.quirksmode.org/css/condcom.html
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2007, 08:59:33 am »

I just look at it and need learn more.


 
Report Spam   Logged
roksolana
31337
***
Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2007, 08:23:53 am »

I have found a good statement for my problem with layers in FF!!!
Report Spam   Logged
Darksat
Administrator
Master
*******
Posts: 3303



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2007, 07:07:10 pm »

Sorry, where is my mind.
Firefox/Mozilla Child of Div hack

This is a rough example of how this hack works.
Code:
#leftMenu>#topVerticalMenu {margin-left:30px;} /* Firefox CSS hack */

This rule is saying: apply this style (margin-left:30px;) to any element that is inside the #topVerticalMenu ID if the #topVerticalMenu ID itself, is inside the #leftMenu ID.
This is a little confusing but don’t worry about it - all you need to know is that IE can’t understand this CSS rule so IE just ignores it. But since FireFox and Mozilla do understand it, the CSS is applied in those browsers.
In other words, the CSS rule: ‘margin-left:30px’ - will only have effect in FireFox and Mozilla, not in IE, because IE doesn’t understand it.
Another point about this CSS hack - CSS rules are applied by the browser from the top - down, so CSS rules that appear last in your stylesheet will be applied last, overriding previously stated rules. That’s why the ‘child of div’ hack has to be applied at the bottom of your CSS file.

I will do a quck CSS hack for your site when I get a chance if its to technical for you.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2007, 07:35:36 pm by Darksat » Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
eXTReMe Tracker
Security Forum
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 15 queries.